the conundrum betwixt resolutions and temptations

It’s 2:30 p.m. on this Thursday, February 2, 2012. (All these details are very relevant to this post, as you will see)

Early 2011, I made a resolution to eliminate sugar from my diet. I failed in less than a week and gave up.

Mid 2011, I altered my initial resolution and decided I would have sugar only on Saturdays. I lasted a month and not a day more.

Last Sunday, I dug up the resolution and resolutely swore I would henceforth have no sugar on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

It’s the first Thursday since my amended resolve and since this morning, there has been a chocolate-covered Twinkie sitting on the lunchroom table. If I stare at it long enough, I see the Devil squatting atop the table grinning at me.

3 thoughts on “the conundrum betwixt resolutions and temptations

Leave a Reply

