bad girls of the bible (waterbrook)

I must be the atypical woman. The back cover tells me that ten million readers already love Liz Curtis Higgs’s writing, yet I don’t. The very things that others seems to like about her style is what I don’t–her “blend of contemporary fiction with biblical commentary” and her “unique brand of ‘girlfriend theology’.”

I did like her biblical commentary and the section at the end of each chapter called “What Lessons Can We Learn from So and So.” What I didn’t like was the long fiction narrative that I had to wade through to get to the shores of biblical understanding. The story of Eve as told in Genesis is plenty good enough for me. I don’t need it spun any more. I don’t need Eve to be Evelyn from Savannah and the Devil to be Devin. I don’t need God reduced to a human stage and theatrics to understand Him better.

This fictionalization takes up about 1/3 of every chapter before Higgs gets to the biblical commentary which I enjoyed for the most part.  Again, I could have done without the over-humanizing of God. For instance of page 23 she says of creation, “First, though, God tried pets,” implying that God’s initial plan was for animals to be Adam’s intimate companion and that Eve was Plan B. To me this says that God was not God enough, not omniscient enough, to understand Adam, his own created being. Something about suppositions like this throughout the book doesn’t sit well with me.

Like I haven’t said enough already, here’s another–I didn’t care too much for the cutesies tucked into Higgs’ commentary either. For example, in her introduction of Genesis 2:21 ( So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and closed up the placed with flesh), she says ” Say, two favorite movie titles in one verse: While You Were Sleeping and Adam’s Rib!” I can see how this may be a humorous ice breaker in a live presentation, but I don’t think it’s worthy of the cost of print.

Along the lines of trying to be cute, there’s also the last section of each chapter called, “Good Girl Thoughts Worth Considering.” I’m not sure if that’s good girl thoughts or good girl thoughts. Or both maybe?

But like I said at the very beginning, perhaps it’s just me. If Higgs is making a difference to a million+ women, she’s got to be doing something right. And maybe I’m just not girly enough for it.

(I received this book free from Waterbrook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/6735/short:1

Leave a Reply

