quinoa pilaf

My friend Tami asked me if I used quinoa and had any recipes. I was honest and told her that I did–once–when I briefly stepped into an eat healthy, eat smart stage. So here’s my only quinoa creation. It was pretty good, but my family refused to try anything that looked and sounded strange. And I hate cooking just for myself, even if it is healthier.

1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup, chopped onion
2 tsp grated ginger
2 tsp grated garlic
1 green chili, slit (optional)
2 cups broth, vegetable or chicken
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp fresh mint, chopped
1 Tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped
1 tsp garam masala* (optional)
1 can chick peas, rinsed and drained**
1 cup quinoa
salt and pepper to taste

Saute the onion till light brown. Add ginger, garlic, chili and stir for about 30 seconds. Add all of the other ingredients except for the quinoa. When the liquid comes to a boil, add the quinoa and simmer till dry and fluffy.

Serve with a chopped iceberg lettuce or chopped cucumbers with in a light buttermilk dressing.

*available in a specialty food stores like Trader Joe’s or in South Asian grocery stores.
** You may substitute cooked chicken for chick peas. However, it’s best to stir in the chicken after the quinoa is cooked.

Leave a Reply

