Captured by Grace, by Dr. David Jeremiah

The book Captured by Grace is held together by Apostle Paul and John Newton: Two sinners, centuries apart, whose lives tell the same story of God’s amazing grace.  Through their lives and through the insight of many who have examined their lives, Jeremiah invites the reader to join the ranks of the Paul and Newton and partake of God’s amazing grace.

There are few books that I keep after reading; this one will stay on my shelf for sure. The stories, texts and trivia are crucial elements of Jeremiah’s exposition of grace. But what struck me most is his ability to make me, the reader, want to revel in God’s grace–not just because of my sinfulness but because of my gratefulness of the Cross and my renewed commitment to live for my Savior.

For those unfamiliar with the doctrine of grace, this is the perfect book for you; through it’s simple explanations and practical illustrations, you will understand the significance of grace in Christianity. For those who fully comprehend the grace of God, this book is like falling in love all over again; in the stories of changed hearts, you will find your love of Jesus rekindled with passion.

I found every page engaging; well, maybe not every page–I did not care for Jeremiah’s prelude. Perhaps that’s because of my personal dislike for historical fiction. I felt that his imaginative narrative of Paul persecuting Christians took away from the book. But I’m glad I moved on to the rest of the book; I was blessed by every page.

(Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”)

4 thoughts on “Captured by Grace, by Dr. David Jeremiah

  1. I’m impressed by your review. You have ignited the obsession in me, now I won’t stop thinking about owning this book and begin reading it. I say this not because a writer knows how to choose a good book, but surely because you’ve tasted Gods amazing grace and was excited the moment you spotted this book ‘Captured by Grace’.

Leave a Reply

